Elementary – Season TWO – Episode 09: On the line

Sherlock: You surprised me earlier on, in the captain’s office.

I can’t remember the last time that you suggest that we work apart.

Did it, perchance, have anything to do with the fact that I continue to lambaste Detective Hip Flask?

Watson: Look, I like the guy as much as you do, okay? Then why do you seem to resent me giving him his comeuppance? (sighs) Two weeks ago, I found this tacked to a board at the station.

Is that supposed to be Us, relieving ourselves on a New York City police badge.

Sherlock: This is why you’re upset? A cartoon? I’m not naive, okay? I know how cops can be.

I never assumed we were universally loved.

But you would prefer I ignore Coventry’s ineptitude, lest more crude drawings appear.

Watson: You keep blaming Coventry, but the truth is, Bundsch would have never shown up here the other night if it weren’t for you.

Sherlock: Uh, explain.

Watson: You wound Coventry up.

Sherlock: He deserved it.

Watson: Yes, but you’re the one who’s supposed to be able to see ten steps ahead, right? So how is it that you didn’t see any of this coming? How is it possible you didn’t consider embarrassing a colleague could blow up in our faces?

Sherlock: I would hardly consider the man a “colleague.

Watson: ” Well, that’s what he is.

Whether you like it or not.

He wants to put criminals away just like us.

Just like that cop you scolded on the bridge yesterday.

Sherlock: Oh, I’m sorry, are you telling me I need to be nicer?

Watson:  You can be nice. I know that you can.

You have this tiny little zone of courtesy, but you’re only ever willing to extend it to me.

Sherlock: Listen, I am committed to this job.

You know that I am.

Watson: But to do it well you need, if not the respect, th at least the support of the people that we work with.

So I’m just asking: what does it cost us to tread lightly?

Sherlock: I-I’ve investigated hundreds of homicides, Watson.

In most cases, the fatal act is perpetrated in a heated moment or for calculated gain.

Annie Wabash’s death is a dark outlier.

Her killer was acting out of monstrous compulsion.

There have likely been others, there will likely be more until someone stops the predator who killed her.

Samantha Wabash gave her life to do just that, and then I undid her sacrifice.

Watson: So what does it cost us to tread lightly around the people that we work with?

Sherlock: I’ll tell you. Attention and effort, which I am not willing to spare.

(…)

Sherlock: I’ve given further consideration to your rebuke regarding my capacity for niceness.

Watson: I didn’t mean it as a rebuke. I was trying to have a conversation.

Sherlock: Either way.

You have a point.

There is unquestionably a certain social utility to being polite.

To maintaining an awareness of other people’s sensitivities.

To exhibiting all the traits that might commonly be grouped under the heading “nice”” Hmm.

Watson: I think you’ll be surprised how easy it is to earn that designation.

Sherlock: No.

I am not a nice man.

It’s important that you understand that.

It’s going to save you a great deal of time and effort.

There is not a warmer, kinder me waiting to be coaxed out into the light.

I am acerbic.

I can be cruel.

It’s who I am.

Right to the bottom.

I’m neither proud of this, nor ashamed of it.

It simply is.

And in my work, my nature has been an advantage far more often than it has been a hindrance.

I’m not gonna change.

Watson: You have.

You’re not the same person I met a year and a half ago.

You’re Good to you? Yeah.

Sherlock: For the most part.

(chuckles softly) I consider you to be exceptional.

So I make an exceptional effort to accommodate you.

But you must accept that, for as long as you choose to be in my life, there will occasionally be fallout from my behavior.

That must be a part of our understanding.

Watson: No one can accept something like that forever.

Sherlock: To thine own self, Watson.

Elementary official website

Leave a Reply

