Elementary – Season TWO – Episode 07: The Marchioness

Sherlock: I often wonder if I should have been born in another time.

Sorry, my name is Sherlock, and I’m an addict.

People: Hi, Sherlock.

Sherlock: My-my My senses are unusually– well, one could even say unnaturally– keen.

And ours is an era of distraction.

It’s, uh, a punishing drumbeat of constant input.

This-this cacophony which follows us into our homes and into our beds and seeps into our into our souls, for want of a better word.

For a long time, uh, there was only one poultice for my raw nerve endings, and that was, uh, copious drug use.

So in my less productive moments, I’m given to wonder if I’d just been born when it was a little quieter out there, would I have even become an addict in the first place? Might I have been more focused? A more fully realized person?

Mycroft: What, like Ancient Greece? You any idea what passed for dental care in the Hellenic era?

Sherlock: No, no, I’d, um, I’d want some of the wonders of modernity.

Just before everything got amplified.

Mycroft: Something like what?

Sherlock: Mycroft.

Mycroft: Web site said it was an open meeting.

I came to support my brother, so please go on.

It’s-it’s fascinating.

Sherlock: No. I, uh, I-I’m so sorry. Sorry.

Elementary official website

Leave a Reply

