Elementary – Season TWO – Episode 06: An Unnatural Arrangement

Sherlock: Quite frankly, I’m surprised it’s taken this long for the captain’s marriage to buckle.

He’s an excellent detective.

Watson: What does that have to do with it?

Sherlock: Well, as you know, detection is a calling, not a job.

Hardly leaves one with time left over to sustain the elaborate ruse of marriage.

Watson: Because, of course, you think marriage is an elaborate ruse.

Sherlock: There are other ways to describe it.

An unnatural arrangement which forces its participants into an unhealthy monogamy.

An accretion of petty fights and resentful compromises which, like Chinese water torture, slowly transforms both parties into howling, neurotic versions of their former selves.

Watson: Yeah.

(…)

Watson: Was I supposed to keep it to myself? It was my case.

Sherlock: In point of fact, Watson, it was Detective Basken’s case.

You were merely consulting.

Watson: As was I.

I didn’t ask you to look into it.

Sherlock: Nor did you ask me not to.

No, I We live together, we work together, Watson.

When it comes to cases, there is no “his” or “hers”; there is partnership.

I assist you, you assist me.

What matters is the result.

Or do you disagree?

Watson: It’s not about disagreeing

 (…)

Watson: I found the case file that Detective Basken gave me right outside my room.

Sherlock: I put it there.

Watson: Any particular reason? You seemed miffed that I’d solved it.

Sherlock: I thought, for your own training, you might want to review the file, see if the answer presents itself.

Watson: I don’t want to solve it now.

I wanted to solve it when it was unsolved.

And I was only miffed because I didn’t have a chance to to figure it out on my own.

Sherlock: As I explained, the essence of our arrangement is partnership.

Partnership implies equality.

Watson: I’m good at this.

We both know that.

You’ve been solving cases since you were a kid.

I’ve got some catching up to do.

It takes, what, 10,000 hours to master a skill? This file was an opportunity for me to put some time in.

Now it’s not.

Okay, I don’t want busywork, thank you very much.

I want to be useful.

(…)

Gregson: (knocking) Come in. What’s that?

Sherlock: Background check on Steven Accorsi.

I never gave you his name.

Sherlock: You told me that he was a contractor who’d done some work on your home, so I looked at some building permits that had been issued

Gregson: I told you I didn’t want you doing anything about it.

Sherlock: Well, I wanted to help.

Aside from a few unpaid parking tickets, your wife’s suitor appears to be above board.

Sorry if that’s not what you wanted to hear.

Gregson: No, you keep that.

I I don’t want it.

Sherlock: (exhales) Hmm.

Your wife is aware that you didn’t like him, correct? Your feelings were clear to her? Only for the last Why? Well, it’s just interesting, out of all the men she could have entertained, she chose the one most likely to elicit a reaction from you.

Gregson: Maybe she thought I deserved it.

Sherlock: (sighs) Mmm.

Pictures of you around the house, it’s odd that they’re still on display. No?

Gregson: Well, we haven’t told the kids about the separation yet.

She’s just keeping up appearances.

Sherlock: You should know, Captain, I usually cheer the end of any marriage.

As an institution, I think it’s outlasted its usefulness by quite a large margin.

Gregson: Huh.

Sherlock: And yet I’ve come to appreciate the premise of partnership.

It’s far more intricate than I had previously imagined.

The very smallest gesture can speak volumes.

Gregson: You’re telling me not to give up?

Sherlock: I’m telling you, you should never have entered into the charade that is wedded matrimony.

(laughs softly) You had a partner.

Perhaps you still do.

Elementary official website

Leave a Reply

